Piaget’s Stages Of Cognitive Development

These are the early childhood development which arises from the age of 0 to 3 and these are termed as cognitive development in the child. If you ever see, every child in his childhood at his early stage starts to develop some basic brain and memory and in this way, he will get mature as he gets older. This development has been analysed and rectified by the Piaget And then he has summarised this As a part of his theory. Here he has also listed the contemporary development based on the psychological factors which are affecting the development of the child.

Statement of the theory

The theory is stating that there are so many monumental impacts of the child development in the brain and understanding of the children because they are overcoming through several neurotics in their brain and in this way they able to develop a psychological and emotional understanding with other people present in the house. Many challenges have been introduced in the theory itself so that he can put a strong foundation to prove his theory and in this way, it has been introduced several times regarding the psychological and emotional development of the child.

Cognitive Abilities

A child in his early stage can be misunderstood several times if it is not directed correctly. To get over this situation, the child develops cognitive abilities in his mind before the other skills. Anything that a child can think of is a cognitive development of himself. Before doing any work, he can measure certain and simple decisions which can lead him to his action and reflections. It is also not recommended that you should check the cognitive abilities of the child because many children develop their cognitive abilities as per their capabilities. If you are purchasing any kind of test and analyse, then you might not get success because it is their natural abilities and capabilities on which their cognitive abilities depend.

There is a process in the brain of the child, which takes several steps and stages of development To think about how he can do well in his life ahead. Despite the part that the child learns quickly, every child has its capabilities in the form of cognitive development which relates to his actions and understandings. All the learnings of the children are Anticipated with the factors affecting it to get understand. The inner eye of the children is responsible to transfer the images clicked on the retina of the eye and then transmitted to the brain with the help of neurone. PIAGET had described all the possible stages of cognitive development which can be related to the growth and development of a child.

Piaget’s Four stages of cognitive development

1. SENSORIMOTOR (0-2 years)

The stage of development takes place between the first starting two years of the child after his birth. It takes into action because of the development of the understanding of the child because it is including all the images and sounds he hears or sees. If in his touch, he can see you breathe and much more he can feel that you can’t figure out. At this stage, the child starts to learn basic things related to the breathing, looking here and there, shaking his hands and legs and experiencing your touch. You can manipulate the world but cannot falls his self-understanding There are so many factors of self-consciousness which creates awareness in the child. All his actions and reflections are related to the factors affecting nearby people.

•Reflex Activity

•Primary circular reactions

•Secondary circular reactions

•coordination of the secondary scheme

•Tertiary circular reactions

•Invention of new means

These all six are the basic sub-stages of The sensorimotor development where the reflex activity refers to the reflection of the child in a way of looking and the primary circular relations considers his movement of eyes and head. Apart from this, the secondary circular reactions refer to his body moment and then the coordination of secondary scheme relates to the Holding of things we give him. The tertiary circular reactions are considered as the Moment of child and then the invention of new means relates to his better understandings.

2. Pre-Operational (2-7 years)

This pre-operational development relates to his speaking and understanding of the new language where he can speak all the small and little words at the starting point which he listens from his parents or the nearby people. In this way, the child learns a new language new gestures which are considered as the pre-operational development of the child. No schemes are included in this because it is the cognitive development stages and hence it is it related to dying diversified actions of the child which the parents can observe.

3. Concrete Operational (7-11 years)

At the stage of cognitive learning, the child begins to identify and make comparisons between the things of the same order. Here the child can understand much more about the visuals he sees and the sounds he here. The concrete operational group can never be underestimated because it has involved so much of fluctuations and difficulties in understanding the basic behaviour of the child. There is so many nature oscillation of the child at this stage and it needs to understand his normal habits and change in the behaviour. At this stage, the child starts making his own decision and he is very well aware of the benefits and hammer for things related to his life.

4. Formal operational(12-15 years)

All the things can be systematically tested at The stage of committee development because the child can answer and reflect currently on whatever questions you are asking him. The child can now find the alternatives for whatever he recognises and Can react to every aspect of the life which is directly related to his thought process. At this stage, the thought process is developed to such an extent where he can build his understanding regarding the unknown factors of life. Even if the child is going through anxiety or depression, he can sort it out and find the best way to move out of it. If the parental blessings have been done right, then the child has developed a very good mature sense of humour which again helping to lead a great success.


Hence these four are the cognitive stages of development which a human can identify in a better way to understand the growth and development of the child. All the theory have faced difficulty and critics and eventually, it has been proved out to be a great source of collecting information over the cognitive development of the child from the early stage.

Leave a Reply